Swim Wales is proud to announce the 16 swimmers and three divers selected to represent Wales at the Commonwealth Games, joining the four para swimmers who have already qualified.

The 23-strong Welsh team will include Olympic and Commonwealth champions, and 18 debutants in an exciting blend of youth and experience.

Tokyo gold medallist Matthew Richards will be aiming to add Commonwealth silverware to his growing collection at his maiden Commonwealth Games alongside fellow Olympic 4x200m Freestyle relay champion Calum Jarvis, who won an individual bronze at Glasgow in 2014.

Reigning 200m Butterfly champion Alys Thomas will defend the crown she won in a Commonwealth record time on the Gold Coast.

Olympic finalist Daniel Jervis will be looking to add a gold medal to the silver and bronze he won in Australia and Scotland when he races in the 400m & 1500m Freestyle. Fellow Team GB star and two-time European relay champion Harriet Jones will compete at her second Games.

Medi Harris has enjoyed a breakthrough season in which she sealed a British title and secured a place at the World Championships, and the Swansea University backstroke specialist will head to Birmingham after breaking Georgia Davies’ 100m Backstroke Welsh record. Bath National Centre athlete Kieran Bird will also represent Wales after his Olympic debut last year.

Lewis Fraser, who was the first Welshman to go under 24 seconds in the 50 Butterfly, is part of a strong Swansea High Performance Centre group that also includes Daniel Jones, Joseph Small, Liam White and Rebecca Sutton.

Bradley Newman, Kyle Booth and Charlotte Evans will represent the City of Cardiff, while Edinburgh University’s Thomas Carswell will make his Wales debut at the Games.

Wales will take three divers to the Commonwealth Games for the first time. High diving star Aidan Heslop has been selected for his second games after taking his first Red Bull World Series victory in Boston, and will team up with Ruby Thorne of Dive London in the platform synchro event. Sheffield Diving’s Lucy Hawkins, who is also aiming for success on the platform, completes the squad.

Swim Wales National Performance Director Ross Nicholas said: “We are extremely proud of the sixteen swimmers and three divers who have gained selection to represent Team Wales at the 2022 Commonwealth Games. These athletes have shown great resilience throughout the challenges of the last couple of years to produce outstanding performances throughout the nomination period and their selection is very well deserved.

 “Our focus as a team now turns to Birmingham and we are excited to see how the aquatics team of swimmers, para-swimmers and divers can come together and build on their performances throughout the nomination period to produce an even higher level of performance at the Games for Team Wales.”

Swim Wales Chief Executive Fergus Feeney said: “I want to say a huge congratulations to the group of swimmers, para swimmers and divers heading to Birmingham to represent Wales at the Commonwealth Games.

“Eighteen of the 23 athletes selected will be making their Commonwealth debut this summer, and a huge amount of credit must go to National Performance Director Ross Nicholas and his team of amazing coaches, sports scientists, and medical staff who have done an outstanding job in supporting these athletes on their journeys to selection.

“We cannot wait to get up to Sandwell Aquatics Centre to roar on the team in their pursuit of success against some of the best athletes on the planet.”

Chris Jenkins, CEO of Commonwealth Games Wales said: “I would like to add my congratulations to all those selected to represent Wales in Birmingham ‘22 and thank all the coaches, support staff, and friends and family, who stand behind the athletes. An opportunity to represent your country goes deeper than putting on a Welsh top and competing in sport. For Wales, it’s about unity, coming together as a small nation and being proud of who we are. The success we’ve had in the Commonwealth Games speaks for itself, and the athletes who have made their mark are now sporting idols for many, from Colin Jackson, Geraint Thomas, Kirsty Wade to Lauren Price. The selection panel certainly had a tough job this year, and seeing the line-up, really transforms all the hard work over the last four years into reality. It’s great to see a mixture of familiar and successful faces with new Team Wales members, all eager to make their mark on the Commonwealth stage. 50 days to go; we can’t wait.”

Please direct all interview requests through Swim Wales Communications Manager James Candy ([email protected]), or Team Wales Head of Engagement Cathy Williams ([email protected]).

Swim Wales will release athlete features over the coming days. For further information, do not hesitate to get in contact.


Para Swimmers selected to Team Wales:

Lily Rice – Pembrokeshire County

Meghan Willis – Torfaen Dolphins

Dylan Broom – Torfaen Dolphins

Rebecca Lewis – RCT Performance

Swimmers selected to Team Wales:

Medi Harris – Swim Wales High Performance Centre / Swansea University

Daniel Jervis – Swim Wales High Performance Centre / Swansea University

Alys Thomas – Swim Wales High Performance Centre / Swansea University

Matthew Richards – Bath National centre

Kieran Bird – Bath National Centre

Daniel Jones – Swim Wales High Performance Centre / Swansea University

Calum Jarvis – Bath National Centre

Lewis Fraser – Swim Wales High Performance Centre / Swansea University

Kyle Booth – City of Cardiff

Joseph Small – Swim Wales High Performance Centre / Swansea University

Liam White – Swim Wales High Performance Centre / Swansea University

Harriet Jones – Swim Wales High Performance Centre / City of Cardiff

Bradley Newman – City of Cardiff

Thomas Carswell – Edinburgh University

Rebecca Sutton – Swim Wales High Performance Centre / Swansea University

Charlotte Evans – City of Cardiff

Divers selected to Team Wales:

Lucy Hawkins – Sheffield Diving

Aidan Heslop – Plymouth Diving

Ruby Thorne – Dive London