Medi Harris, Matthew Richards, Daniel Jervis and Kieran Bird will fly the flag for Wales as part of Team GB during the Olympic pool programme, while Hector Pardoe – who earned a bronze medal at February’s World Championships – will race in the 10km open water marathon event.

Welsh athletes will make up over 15 percent of the 33-strong British swimming team set to take on the world at La Defense Arena in July and August.

The 21-year-old Richards ended a 109-year wait for a Welsh gold medal in the pool when he clinched 4x200m Freestyle relay glory in Tokyo three years ago. A string of stunning performances at the Speedo Aquatics GB Swimming Championships saw him earn nomination times in the 50m, 100m and 200m Freestyle events in Paris, where the 2023 world champion will also be a core member of the relay teams.

Distance specialist Jervis of Swansea University is also returning for his second Games after finishing fifth the 1500m final in Tokyo. The 28-year-old, who was cruelly ruled out of the Commonwealth Games in 2022 due to COVID-19, will return to the Olympic stage after claiming the British title and smashing the nomination time in 14:47.94.

Matt Richards
Daniel Jervis

Jervis said: “It hasn’t quite sunk in yet, I’m so excited to get into training and get ready for the Games now. You never get used to the feeling, the support from my family and friends has been unbelievable and I’m so lucky.

“It hasn’t been smooth sailing since Tokyo, which was the best experience of my career. It’s been pretty tough since then, I wanted to win a good medal at the Commonwealth Games and that was taken away from me. I wanted to prove to myself that I could overcome these challenges and I didn’t think I could for a long time. Swimming can take so much from you but in these moments, it gives it all back.”

Bird, who also competed in Japan, won the British 400m title at London Aquatics Centre but missed the nomination time by two tenths of a second. However, his fine form has been rewarded with a spot on his second Olympic team.

Porthmadog’s Harris will make her Olympic debut in France after claiming Commonwealth, European and World medals since the last edition of the Games. The Backstroke specialist qualified as part of the Women’s 4x200m Freestyle relay team at the London Aquatics Centre.

Kieran Bird

Away from the pool, Tokyo 2020 Olympian Hector Pardoe makes his second successive Olympic marathon swimming team after an eye injury cut short his medal bid in the Far East. The Wrexham-born swimmer returns to the greatest stage after claiming a bronze medal at the Doha World Championships. Pardoe will be joined by Swim Wales and Swansea Aquatics coach Hayley Baker, who will lead the marathon swimming team in Paris.

Swim Wales CEO Fergus Feeney said: “We are so proud of each of the athletes selected for the Paris 2024 Olympic Games. For Welsh swimmers to make up more than 15 percent of the team is an incredible achievement for our small nation. It is testament to the collective efforts of the athletes, coaches, families across the entire aquatics community in Wales and beyond.

“I have no doubt that Medi, Matthew, Daniel, Kieran & Hector will inspire the nation and future generations of swimmers with their performances in Paris. Their talent, hard work and dedication has earned them their spot on Team GB, and I wish them the very best of luck in their final preparations for the Games.”

Swim Wales National Performance Director Ross Nicholas said: “I am delighted to see five of our Welsh athletes rewarded for their performances with selection for the 2024 Paris Olympic Games. Each of these athletes has come through a tough selection process and huge congratulations must go to them, their coaches and support networks. With four returning Olympians and one debutant, we’re excited to see what our athletes can achieve. Their selections are just rewards for their hard work and dedication to the sport.”

Your Great Britain team for Paris 2024:

Leah Crisp, Bath Performance Centre

Hector Pardoe, Loughborough University

Toby Robinson, Loughborough University

The athletes above gained selection after performances in the 10km events at the 2024 World Aquatics Championships in Doha, as per the marathon swimming selection policy.

Freya Colbert, Loughborough Performance Centre

Kathleen Dawson, University of Stirling

Anna Hopkin, Loughborough Performance Centre

Daniel Jervis, Swim Wales High Performance Centre

Max Litchfield, Loughborough Performance Centre

Keanna MacInnes, University of Stirling

Oliver Morgan, Birmingham University

Honey Osrin, Loughborough University

Adam Peaty, Loughborough Performance Centre

Ben Proud, Bath University

Matthew Richards, Millfield

Duncan Scott, University of Stirling

Abbie Wood, Loughborough Performance Centre

The athletes above gained selection after winning an individual event and going inside the relevant event’s nomination standard at the 2024 Aquatics GB Swimming Championships, as per clause 5.1 of the selection policy

Alex Cohoon, Loughborough University

Tom Dean, Bath Performance Centre

James Guy, Millfield

Medi Harris, Loughborough Performance Centre

Lucy Hope, University of Stirling

The athletes above gained selection by virtue of the collective times of the first four finishers in the respective 100m and 200m Freestyle events at the 2024 Aquatics GB Swimming Championships, in relation to the 4x100m and 4x200m Freestyle Relays, as per clause 5.2 of the selection policy.

Joe Litchfield, Loughborough Performance Centre

The athlete above gained selection by virtue of the collective times of the winner of the open final of the Men’s 100m Backstroke, 100m Breaststroke, 100m Butterfly and 100m Freestyle at the 2024 Aquatics GB Swimming Championships, in relation to the 4x100m Medley Relay, as per clause 5.3 of the selection policy.

Freya Anderson, Bath Performance Centre

Kieran Bird, Bath Performance Centre

Angharad Evans, University of Stirling

Jack McMillan, University of Stirling

Eva Okaro, Repton

Jacob Whittle, Bath Performance Centre

James Wilby, Loughborough Performance Centre

The athletes above gained selection at the discretion of the GB Head Coach and Performance Director, as per clause 5.4 of the selection policy. Considerations included potential relay medallists, relay cover for athletes with heavy schedules, performances at the 2024 Aquatics GB Swimming Championships and medical mitigations.

Luke Greenbank, Loughborough Performance Centre

Jonathon Marshall, Carnegie

Katie Shanahan, University of Stirling

Laura Stephens, Loughborough Performance Centre

The athletes above gained selection after placing second in a final at the 2024 Aquatics GB Swimming Championships and going inside the relevant event’s nomination time, as per clause 5.5 of the selection policy.